Skip navigation
Print page

RSPB Council

RSPB Council is the governing body of the RSPB. It is responsible for ensuring the Society conducts its affairs in accordance with its Constitution and with the law.

There are 18 Council members (trustees) including the President, Chairman, Honorary Treasurer and three country committee chairmen for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. They are elected by the membership at the AGM and serve for five years.

Council and its main sub-committees operate to a schedule of quarterly meetings.

Council members

Ms Kate Humble (President) – television presenter and wildlife enthusiast; has presented a variety of science and natural history programmes, the most recent being The Frankincense Trail and the highly popular Springwatch and Autumnwatch series.

Professor Steve Ormerod FIEEM (Chairman) – Professor of Ecology in Cardiff University’s School of Biosciences. Has published more than 250 pieces of research into freshwater ecosystems, including river birds.  2011 recipient of the Marsh Award for Marine and Freshwater Conservation. Former chief editor of the Journal of Applied Ecology; Past President of the Institute of Ecology and Environmental Management, past Council member of the Freshwater Biological Association, the Countryside Council for Wales, the Rivers’ Trust and the British Trust for Ornithology. Also served on the scientific advisory committee of the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust as well as several Defra committees, including the expert panel of the National Ecosystem Assessment.

Mr Alan Martin (Honorary Treasurer) – chartered management accountant; spent most of his business life working in finance and running a company that manufacturers bird rings for studying bird movements; serves on World Land Trust Council, secretary of Brazilian Atlantic Rainforest Trust, former treasurer and chairman of the British Trust for Ornithology. Chairs RSPB Finance & Audit Committee.

Mrs Pamela Pumphrey (Chairman, Committee for Scotland) – runs an upland stock farm in Scotland. Active RSPB Local Group member.

Dr Havard Prosser (Chairman, Committee for Wales) – former Chief Environmental Science Adviser to the Welsh Assembly Government. Current interests include a small-holding in mid Wales, research on ecosystem services at Cardiff University, and environmental consultancy.

Ms Judith Annett (Chairman, Committee for Northern Ireland) – runs a small countryside consultancy practice. Currently independent chair of the Northern Ireland Biodiversity Group and a member of the Irish Biodiversity Forum.

Mr James Alexander - businessman and strategist; keen naturalist, birdwatcher and strong advocate of greener lifestyles. Alongside his financial business interests, he is chief executive officer of Green Thing. Chairs RSPB Communications Committee.

Mr David Baldock – has worked in environmental policy all his life and is Executive Director of the Institute for European Environmental Policy.

Dr Andrew Brown – environmental consultant and former Chief Executive of English Nature. Chairs RSPB Conservation Committee.

Mr Paul Cooke – farmer and businessman with experience in estate management. Qualified chartered surveyor with business interests encompassing property development, farming, forestry and mining.

Ms Sal Cooke – director of a JISC advisory service on the use of technology to aid and support education, training and employment. Active RSPB Local Group member and volunteer in Yorkshire.

Mr Kevin Cox – actively involved in publishing since 1981; Chairman and former Chief Executive of Origin Publishing. Serves on Council of the World Land Trust.

Mr Huw Jones – media specialist and former chief executive of the Welsh language TV channel, S4C. Fellow of the Royal Television Society.

Mr Gilbert Little – telecom industry specialist with business interests in telecommunications and healthcare.

Professor David Macdonald – director of the Wildlife Conservation Research Unit at Oxford. Visiting Professor at Imperial College, chair of Defra’s Darwin Expert Committee, chair of Natural England’s Science Advisory Committee.

Ms Rosemary Radcliffe – economist and business adviser; former chief economist with PricewaterhouseCoopers; has served on various government advisory and review bodies.

Mr Patrick Stirling-Aird - solicitor with a lifetime's passion for the conservation of birds of prey; Secretary of the Scottish Raptor Study Groups; non-executive director of an environmental research charity.

Mr Graeme Wallace – accountant and economist, and formerly a Director of PricewaterhouseCoopers' consulting practice. Assists with capercaillie conservation in Scotland, and as a bird and wildlife guide at a charitable conservation based eco-lodge in Amazonian Brazil.