Nikon Coolpix P510

Chat

Chat
Say hello to your fellow members or ask questions about this community here
Gear Guide

Nikon Coolpix P510

This question is not answered

I am wanting to upgrade my camera and have almost decided upon the Panasonic Lumix FZ150 - I have read so many good reports about it, but whilst doing a bit of research  i noticed that the Nikon P510 has an optical zoom of 42x.  I just wondered what the catch was with this and if anyone has any experience of this camera?  I am a bit of a novice photographer - my objective being simply to get the sharpest,  close up pictures that I can whilst still using a bridging camera.  Thanks in advance for any thoughts!

All Replies
  • Christine,  I suspect there is no catch with the Nikon and there are people who are happy with that camera. The problem for me is the comment about sharpest, close up pictures.  At the risk if upsetting bridge camera users the best way of doing that is to get closer.  The further you are away the chances increase of the image quality diminishing,  I would suspect that the zoom on the FZ150 is more than sufficient for virtually all your needs

• Thanks for your reply and I fully understand what you are saying about getting closer to the subject Bob, it's just that with birds it's not always possible to do that, so I am wanting to get the best picture possible when the photographing conditions are not always ideal, if that makes sense.  Would you get a lot more camera shake with the greater zoom?

I am more or less decided on the FZ150 - it will have to last me a while though so am just weighing up all the options.