Be careful what you wish for........

Chat

Chat
Say hello to your fellow members or ask questions about this community here
The Tea Rooms

Be careful what you wish for........

• Haven't posted anything for a while, but thought I'd relate the exploits in my garden! I am very new to a large garden and have been putting all sorts of provisions in place for the birdies....nest boxes, hawthorn hedging, beech hedging, a meadow area (small!) and then for my delight and delectation a good number of scented climbing roses anad a number of fruit trees.

When we first arrived at the house we had a flock of about 20+ sparrows, which disappeared when my neighbour took a tree down (my assumption) I'm delighted to say that a number of sparrows have started to return to the garden and their chirruping is just terrific.

On the other side, however, I began to find my apple blossom and rose buds stripped on the path! I was baffled for a while. D'oh! Then I realised that my wee briddies were the culprits! :-)

• Hi Snapdragon,

Yep, we win some we lose some with our feathered friends!

Great to hear your sparrows have returned. Fingers crossed they stay. Exactly the same thing happened with mine nearly 2 years ago. They disappeared when a neighbour cut down the tree they roosted in. It took a few months, but back they came!

• Hi Snapdragon, your garden sounds like a piece of Heaven on Earth, both for the birds and for you.

• same here with the sparrows, they were in a spikey tree under my next door neighbours bedroom window next to mine, apparently they woke her up to early and they removed thier tree  :( i do so miss my morning chorus, they have started to return to my feeders in the back yard but no where as many as i used to see. do you have any pictures of this heavenly garden of yours would love to see them we are currently trying to turn our small back garden into a patch of paradise, any tips for planting it really is very small but any tips welcomed. :)