RSPB
Skip navigation
Print page

The RSPB at Kelvingrove

All year round

  • Video link
  • Staff on hand to help
  • Refreshments available
  • Parking
  • Toilets
  • Accessible site
  • Accessible toilets
Kingfisher hovering over lake

Image: Graham Catley

Glasgow is teeming with wildlife, if you know where to look, and per person the city has one of the highest percentages of greenspace in Europe.

That's why - even in the city - you might spot one of us kingfishers near the waterways of Kelvingrove Park. Keep a sharp eye out, we move fast!

There are opportunities here to get up close and personal with Glasgow’s wildlife, from building dens and finding about some of the parks smallest residents, to afterschool clubs and opportunities for volunteering. You can also search for the signs of otters on the river banks and look out for peregrines.

When can you see us?

You’ll also find us in the museum 1-4pm at weekends and there’s a list of specific events at the bottom of this page.

Join our Tweeting toddler group, suitable for children age three and under with their carers. This group runs every Tuesdays at 11.30, for 30 mins, meeting on the Glasgow map in Scotland’s Wildlife Gallery.

Our Natural History Tour for adults and older children runs weekly at 1.30pm every Wednesday, meeting at Sir Roger the elephant in the West Court.

Midweek adult afternoons, and guided tours will be advertised on the day so just drop by to see what is going on!

How to find us

By car
Kelvingrove Museum and Park is just 2 miles from Glasgow city centre and the M8 motorway (signposted).
There is a parking charge at the museum of £1 for four hours.

By public transport
There are numerous bus services from the city centre to Argyle Street and Sauchiehall Steet (2 mins from the museum). The nearest Glasgow Subway (underground) station - 'Kelvinhall' - is five mins walk.

To walk to the museum from the city centre takes 30-40 minutes.

Still got some questions?

Telephone: Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum on 0141 276 9599, or Sarah-Jayne Forster, Project Officer Living Nature, on 0141 276 9568
E-mail: sarah-jayne.forster@rspb.org.uk

Events

Join us on one of the many events planned - we hope to see you there!

April

Saturday 19 April

Sunday 20 April

Monday 21 April

Saturday 26 April

Sunday 27 April

May

Saturday 3 May

Sunday 4 May

Saturday 17 May

Sunday 18 May

Friday 23 May

Saturday 24 May

Sunday 25 May

June

Saturday 7 June

Sunday 8 June

Saturday 14 June

Sunday 15 June

Saturday 21 June

Sunday 22 June

This date has been brought to you with the help of Kelvingrove Museum, Glasgow City Council, Culture and Sport Glasgow, and is supported by Scottish Natural Heritage.

What can I do?

Help us improve our Date with Nature pages. Take our quick survey.

Take survey