RSPB
Print page

Dolphinwatch Aberdeen

From 31 March to 14 August 2016

  • Binoculars and telescopes for hire
  • Staff on hand to help
  • Parking
  • Accessible site
Bottle-nosed dolphin breaching in the Moray Firth, Scotland

Image: Chris Gomersall

Intelligence, acrobatic ability and good looks, us bottlenose dolphins have it all.

Watch us from the high vantage point of Torry Battery, Aberdeen, where you'll discover panoramic views of the harbour mouth and North Sea.

You’re likely to see us splashing around the harbour entrance with our friends and family, while a host of noisy seabirds look on. You may also spot other marine mammals like seals or even a whale.

We're the largest bottlenose dolphins in the world and are in our element in our cold North Sea home. Come and see us while staying warm and dry on the seashore!

When can you see us?

Staff should be on site to welcome you and provide information from Thursday to Sunday, 11 am-6 pm (weather permitting). We'll be in the Torry Battery car park with telescopes and binoculars to help visitors spot the dolphins. If the weather is horrendous we may not be on site, so please call in advance if you're making a special trip.

We also run special event weekends throughout the length of the project. Our Facebook. page is a good place to find out more.

What's at the site?

Wheelchair accessible parking, optics and RSPB Scotland staff and volunteers.

How to find us

You’ll find us at Torry Battery car park, off Greyhope Road, Aberdeen. Look out for the RSPB van!

What should I bring?

The Torry Battery car park has no amenities and can be blustery. Please bring warm, waterproof clothing, sunscreen and any drinks and snacks you will require.

Still got some questions?

Telephone: 01224 624824 for the Aberdeen office. You can also send us a Tweet.
E-mail: dolphinwatch@rspb.org.uk

Events

Join us on one of the many events planned - we hope to see you there!

May

Thursday 5 May

Friday 6 May

Saturday 7 May

Sunday 8 May

Thursday 12 May

Friday 13 May

Saturday 14 May

Sunday 15 May

Thursday 19 May

Friday 20 May

Saturday 21 May

Sunday 22 May

Thursday 26 May

Friday 27 May

Saturday 28 May

Sunday 29 May

June

Thursday 2 June

Friday 3 June

Saturday 4 June

Sunday 5 June

Thursday 9 June

Friday 10 June

Saturday 11 June

Sunday 12 June

Thursday 16 June

Friday 17 June

Saturday 18 June

Sunday 19 June

Thursday 23 June

Friday 24 June

Saturday 25 June

Sunday 26 June

Thursday 30 June

July

Friday 1 July

Saturday 2 July

Sunday 3 July

Thursday 7 July

Friday 8 July

Saturday 9 July

Sunday 10 July

Thursday 14 July

Friday 15 July

Saturday 16 July

Sunday 17 July

Thursday 21 July

Friday 22 July

Saturday 23 July

Sunday 24 July

Thursday 28 July

Friday 29 July

Saturday 30 July

Sunday 31 July

August

Thursday 4 August

Friday 5 August

Saturday 6 August

Sunday 7 August

Thursday 11 August

Friday 12 August

Saturday 13 August

Sunday 14 August

How you can help

Help us improve our Date with Nature pages. Take our quick survey.

Take survey

Nearby attractions

Twitter