Print page

Top nature awards return to recognise conservation success

14 November 2012

Louise Purves
Media and Communications Officer

An RSPB Scotland award scheme, honouring outstanding achievements in nature conservation, has opened for nominations and announced the addition of two new categories.

This time, as well as accepting entries in the six existing categories,  the Nature of Scotland Awards will celebrate the work of those bringing the natural world closer to children and young people, as well as those stepping up to make a difference in their local community.

The awards aim to recognise excellence and innovation from individuals, projects and organisations who work hard to conserve Scotland’s precious natural heritage, habitats and species.

The deadline for nominations closes on 15th March 2013, after which a team of experts will suggest a shortlist to the judges.

The judging panel will once again be led by Director of RSPB Scotland Stuart Housden OBE. He will be joined by respected naturalist, conservationist and author Sir John Lister-Kaye OBE, BBC presenter and wildlife expert Euan McIlwraith, Dr Ian Jardine, Chief Executive Officer of Scottish Natural Heritage and Sophie Stafford, editor of the BBC Wildlife Magazine.

Stuart Housden, RSPB Scotland Director and head judge, said: “Last year we were overwhelmed by the volume and calibre of entries. It is a real privilege to be able to recognise and reward some truly inspirational projects.  As 2013 is the Year of Natural Scotland we look forward to hearing even more of these motivating stories. My fellow judges and I are also delighted to announce the creation of two new categories which we believe will celebrate the amazing efforts being made to connect more people to the natural environment.”

The Nature of Scotland Awards, organised by RSPB Scotland, is free to enter. Shortlisted entries will be notified on 18th June  2013 with the final award ceremony scheduled to take place in October 2013.

For more information or to make a nomination visit


Ninety-one entries were received last year across six categories, raising the profile of conservation in Scotland and the imperative people, communities, charities and statutory sector attached to a healthy landscape rich in wildlife.


This year, entries are welcomed across eight categories:

·         Marine Conservation

·         Sustainable Development

·         Politician of the Year

·         Innovation

·         Outstanding Contribution

·         RSPB Species Champion

·         Community Initiative (new)

·         Youth and Education (new)

Other resources

We can provide the following additional resources to support this story

  • Interview

For more information about how to obtain these resources, please contact the person listed on this page.