Print page


The RSPB Midlands region spans 14 counties, covering most of the East and West Midlands government regions. More than 9 million people live in the region, the majority in large cities and market towns.

The area is essentially rural but includes some of England’s best-known and well-loved landscapes such as the Cotswolds, Malvern Hills, Welsh Marches, Sherwood Forest and parts of the Peak District. The region is dissected by several rivers, including parts of the Avon, Severn, and Trent where a number of wetland restoration projects are underway.


Conservation priorities for this region include the continuing efforts to reverse the declines in a range of threatened farmland bird species, and we are also looking at ways to benefit our much-loved garden birds.


The region has a small complement of nature reserves including Coombes Valley, Churchwood, Otmoor and Sandwell Valley and we are looking to increase this number with new reserves in development at Middleton Lakes near Birmingham and Langford Lowfields in the Trent Valley.

Counties covered

Click on a county to find out what's going on in the Midlands.

For more information

Midlands Regional Office

Telephone:01295 253330

46 The Green
South Bar
OX16 9AB