The main house at the Lodge RSPB reserve, UK headquaters of the RSPB, Sandy, Bedfordshire

RSPB Council

RSPB Council is the governing body of the RSPB. It is responsible for ensuring the Society conducts its affairs in accordance with its Constitution and within the law.

The RSPB Council and Management Board

RSPB Council

There are a maximum of 18 council members (trustees) including the chairman, treasurer and three country committee chairmen for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. They are elected by the membership at the AGM and serve for five years.

The council and its main sub-committees operate to a schedule of quarterly meetings.

Management Board

The RSPB is governed by a council of volunteers elected for their expertise relevant to running a wildlife conservation charity. An elected council and committees for Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales oversee our work.

The council is responsible for the conduct of the RSPB’s affairs and for ensuring that the RSPB operates in accordance with its constitution and the law.

As the RSPB is a charity, the council is also answerable to the charity regulators in England and Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, for ensuring charitable funds are used wisely.

Day-to-day management of the RSPB is delegated to a management board headed by a chief executive who reports to the chairman of the council. Divisional directors of global conservation, finance, people, fundraising and communications, and UK operations form our management board.

Council members

Kevin Cox (Chair)
Robert Cubbage (Treasurer)
David Baldock (Chair, Conservation Committee)
John Bullock (Chair, Fundraising & Communications Committee)
Victoria Chester (Chair, Country Advisory Committee for England)
Colin Galbraith (Chair, Country Advisory Committee for Scotland)
Clive Mellon (Chair, Country Advisory Committee for Northern Ireland)
Adrian Webb (Chair, Country Advisory Committee for Wales)
Helen Browning
Rosie Hails
Chris Mills
Stephen Moss
Vicki Nash
Debbie Pain
Veronica Pickering
Martin Saunders
Matt Taylor
Kerry ten Kate

New Trustees

At AGM in October, three Trustees reach the end of their five-year term:

  • David Baldock, Chair of Conservation Committee
  • Clive Mellon, Chair of Country Advisory Committee for Northern Ireland
  • Stephen Moss, Council Member

All three have made an enormous contribution to the work of Council and will be greatly missed. Thank you all!

  • Kerry ten Kate is nominated as Chair of Conservation Committee

We had a strong field of prospective new Trustees to interview at the beginning of the year and Council is very pleased to nominate:

Judith Annett, for Chair of Country Advisory Committee for Northern Ireland, Linda Grant and John Randall

Please see here for more information  about them.

Our new round of recruitment will start in the Autumn, more details to follow.

Or you can contact Caroline Donovan, Council Co-ordinator by email: