Red squirrel Sciurus vulgaris, in woodland, Formby NT reserve, Merseyside

Award categories

Find out more about the different areas of nature conservation our Nature of Scotland awards celebrate.

Our award categories

Celebrating the inspiring people, projects and organisations across different aspects of nature conservation in Scotland, the 2017 Nature of Scotland Awards saw the return of the Marine Conservation category and a new Political Advocate of the Year award.

Learn more about the nine award categories below. 

Community Initiative Award

This award will go to an outstanding community-based initiative that benefits nature. The initiative should be developed and led by the people it serves, acting as an inspiration to others and offering real value to the whole community.

The Corporate Award

This award will recognise and celebrate commercial businesses that are delivering tangible benefits for nature conservation in Scotland. We are looking to hear from businesses of all sizes that stand out from the crowd by doing things differently and are making a real difference for Scottish species and natural landscapes.

Maybe you have developed exemplary and innovative sustainable practices or an individual project that delivers for nature conservation in Scotland. Perhaps you have created a groundbreaking partnership that enables your business to make a significant direct contribution or maybe your work helps assist the conservation sector to save threatened Scottish species. 

Food and Farming Award

The way our food is produced can have negative impacts on the environment. But some individuals, businesses and organisations are doing things differently; taking steps to reduce their own environmental footprint and helping consumers make good food choices. Whether that's wildlife-friendly farmers, for example, or cafes and caterers reducing food waste and carefully sourcing ingredients, this award celebrates our sustainable food champions.

Innovation Award

Awarded to the most innovative project, initiative, practice, or technique (management or otherwise) that has aided nature conservation. Entries for this award need to stand out as being different - it could be a project that is the first of its kind, or something that has been done before but has been approached differently.

Marine Conservation Award

This award will recognise an outstanding contribution to the conservation or sustainable management of Scotland’s precious marine resources. 

Perhaps your partnership working, innovative ideas or new research is helping protect marine species and the habitats they rely on. If you have participated in activity that directly contributed to marine conservation, we would like to hear from you.

Nature Tourism Award

This award will go to a nature-based tourism organisation or initiative that stands above its peers for its contribution to conservation. The winner will provide more than a wildlife experience, demonstrating a significant and lasting contribution to nature conservation in Scotland. Tour companies, accommodation providers, attractions, wildlife guides and engagement activities are all welcome to apply. Please remember to provide results.

Political Advocate of the Year Award

Do you know a politician, campaigner or individual who has made a difference or significant impact on public policy for nature and wildlife? This award is to recognise and celebrate the movers and shakers who go beyond the day-to-day to ensure our natural heritage is not only protected but enhanced for all and future generations. 

They might be a politician, be it Councillor, MSP, MP or MEP; a campaigner from an environmental NGO; a dedicated public servant or an extraordinary active individual who cares. This is our chance to thank them for what they do and motivate them to keep aiming higher and greener!

RSPB Species Champion Award

To be shortlisted for this award, the entrant will have achieved something extraordinary to conserve a vulnerable or threatened species.

Have you implemented a policy, intervened to prevent habitat destruction or helped to create a valuable ecosystem - and has this helped a struggling species, or a group of species in trouble?

Perhaps you or your company's hard work and dedication on the ground have been a catalyst for positive change. Tell us about what you have done to save at-risk species, highlighting positive results where possible.

Youth and Education Award

This award honours a school or youth group, which can demonstrate how they have made a real difference to the conservation and sustainability of Scotland’s wildlife and habitats.

This could be through fundraising for a conservation-related project, partnership working or best practice in hands-on delivery of learning for sustainability, connecting young people to the natural world.

Tell us why your group is head and shoulders above the rest and spread the word on the results you have achieved!